What Are the Costs of a First Offense DUI in Massachusetts?

Understand Your OUI Rights.

Getting a DUI can get expensive. There are court fees and fines. There may also be costs associated with carrying out your sentence or enrollment in an alcohol program.

When someone gets arrested for their first DUI in Massachusetts, their first concerns are usually staying out of jail and minimizing the impact on their life. But many people are also concerned about the costs.

Getting a DUI can get expensive. You may have to pay bail depending on the circumstances of your case. There are also court fees and fines. You may even have to pay additional costs as well. For example, there may be costs associated with carrying out your sentence or enrollment in an alcohol program.

New Call-to-action

The maximum possible penalties for a first offense OUI/DUI are:

  • 2.5 years in a house of correction
  • A fine of $500-$5,000
  • Loss of your driving license for 1 year

However, first time DUI offenders usually do not serve jail time unless their DUI resulted in death or serious injury. Most first-time offenders are eligible to receive the Alternative Disposition, which entails up to 2 years of probation with a condition that the driver completes a driver alcohol education program. Alternative Disposition also results in a 45 to 90-day license loss.  It is not often that a fine is imposed.

It is vital that you contact an attorney if you have been charged with a DUI. An attorney can defend your rights in court and walk you through the difficult legal procedures associated with your case. A favorable outcome at trial could minimize both your out-of-pocket costs to the government and the impact this experience has on your life.

Additional Fees and Fines for a First Offense DUI

In addition to any fine imposed by the court, there are multiple mandatory fees and fines associated with getting a DUI and getting your life back to normal. These could include, but are not limited to:

  • $65/ month probation service fee
  • $250 probation 24D program fee
  • Driver Alcohol Education Program fee (Usually $707.)
  • $250 head injury assessment
  • $50 Victims of Drunk Driving fee
  • $500-$1000 driver’s license reinstatement fee

Naturally, these are only the potential costs associated with a First Offense OUI. Losing your driving license could have a significant impact on your livelihood. For example, making scheduled court appearances can interfere with your work schedule, resulting in lost income.

When adding up the costs of a first offense DUI, consider these other possible expenses:

  • Vehicle impoundment, towing, and storage
  • Increased auto insurance premiums
  • Costs of alternative transportation
  • Impact on income if driving is part of your job

Altogether, these fees can add up to thousands of dollars. However, every cost is dependent upon the circumstances of your case. An experienced DUI attorney can give you a better indication of what your total costs will be so you can plan accordingly. They may even be able to help you get on a payment plan you can afford so you are able to pay back the government.

The Intangible Costs of a First Offense DUI

Aside from the monetary costs of a first offense DUI, you will also have to assess costs that can’t be quantified. A DUI can sometimes impact a person’s career, reputation, and relationships. But with the right help, your first DUI doesn’t have to ruin your life.

An experienced attorney will help you address all the legal aspects of your DUI charge. They will defend you in court, giving you the possibility of a more favorable outcome at trial. If you are convicted, they will assist you throughout the probation process and work with you to get your license reinstated, so you can move on with your life.

New Call-to-action

Call DUI Attorney Joseph J Higgins for a free case evaluation today at 508-930-4273